Some (Hidden) Netflix Gems

Movies and TV shows can be difficult to watch, especially if you don’t have the right streaming service. And for Netflix users, it often seems as though Netflix rids movies from its library more often than it adds them. So, for the dissatisfied and lost Netflix user, I’ve decided to compile a quick list of some of my favorite TV series and movies on Netflix that you may not know about. To keep this list on the shorter side, I’m leaving super popular shows like The Office, Parks and Recreation, and Stranger Things off because I doubt there’s anyone who hasn’t at least heard of them.

TV SHOWS:

-Bojack Horseman (netflix original animated dark comedy/drama)

-Freaks and Geeks (cult classic series about highschool circa 1980)

-Arrested Development (cult classic comedy sitcom)

-Love (netflix original romantic comedy)

-Dear White People (netflix original comedy drama)

-Bob Ross: Beauty Is Everywhere (Relaxing and pure. I grew up watching this)

-It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia (cult classic comedy sitcom)

MOVIES:

-Coraline (claymation eerie children’s movie)

-Big Eyes (Drama based off of a real artist’s story)

-Heathers (Cult classic 80s teen dark comedy)

-The Fundamentals Of Caring (Neflix original roadtrip comedy drama)

-The Good Son (drama thriller)

-The Little Prince (animated/claymation heartfelt children’s movie)

-The Sixth Sense (Drama mystery thriller)

-The Iron Giant (Animated heartfelt children’s movie)

-The Babadook (independent horror film)

-Amelié (lighthearted and sweet french drama/romance)

-Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson adventure/drama/comedy)

-Wet Hot American Summer (Goofy cult classic comedy)

6 Comments

  1. I love this blog post about Netflix shows/movies worth watching. I watch Netflix A LOT… and I’m always looking for new shows to watch but can never come across any that interest me. This list is very beneficial to me! Maybe for future blog posts try writing a brief summary about what each show/movie is like, sorta like a preview so I am able to focus on the movies/shows that particularly interest me.

    Great blog post!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. You definitely have to add Paris Is Burning on this list! Wonderful documentary about a niche scene in New York – the Ballroom Scene. Although the people in the documentary were exploited during the creation, it was wonderful to hear the stories from queer people of color.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. I LOVE HEATHERS, it is definitely in my top 3 favorite movies. That being said, Freaks and Geeks is a show that I never wish ended. If you liked that show, I would 100% recommend My So-Called Life. I really like the ones you put on here, and will totally be looking into some of the other ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Oooo I’ll have to watch that one, I think you’ve mentioned it to me before. Also, I ADORE Heathers and Freaks and Geeks. Freaks and Geeks should’ve gone on way longer, and I’m salty about it every day of my life honestly

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment